Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

A31 can be used in buildings with DTS = 3 or 4.

The Complete Message:

A31 structural system can only be used in buildings with Earthquake design class (DTS) 3 or 4.


A31 type structural system TBDY 2018 is defined in Table 4.1 as buildings where all earthquake effects are met with moment-transferring reinforced concrete frames with limited ductility level .

TBDY 2018 by the substance transfer torque entire seismic effects ductility limited structural system are met with reinforced concrete frame ( Table 4.1 from A31 , B31 , C31 conveyor systems) will be used only in buildings with DTS = 3 and DTS = 4.

Structural systems with limited ductility level cannot be used in buildings classified as DTS = 1a, DTS = 2a, DTS = 3a and DTS = 4a according to 4.3.4 a .

According to 4.3.4 b article, ductility level mixed load bearing systems cannot be used in   buildings with BYS <= 6 and classified as DTS = 1a and DTS = 2a .    

For this reason, A31 selection cannot be made in structures with earthquake design class DTS = 1, 1a, 2, 2a, 3a, 4a.

Possible solutions:

  1. Solution can be made by choosing high ductility level.

  • If BYS> = 3, buildings without shearwall can be selected as A11.

  • If BYS> = 2, the building can be selected as A14 or A15 , taking into account the conditions given in Article .

  1. If the building height class is DMS> = 6, the solution can be made by selecting the ductility level mixed.

  • Considering the conditions given in, one of the structural systems A21 or A22 can be selected.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.